Super Junior Vol. 5 Mr. Simple

Super Junior is back more sexier,bolder, and colorful than ever.

The 13 man band had their fair shares of up and downs lately. With Kibum not present and Kangin completing madatory military service. Many fans worried if the core of  Super Junior has been broken. Although these promotional/performance set backs manifest back in 2010 prior to the release of  Bonamana. The group still manage to be the top-selling album in South Korea and stayed #1 in Taiwan for 61 weeks in a row in 2010. Suspect a repeat with their newest album Mr.Simple.

The full length album is a risk of its own since most groups still settle for mini. Instead Super Junior wanted to give fans the full experience of their music. The main title “Mr.Simple” is classic SuJu style. Easy to follow yet catchy course with addictive melodies and a beat that commands. This continues with “Opera,’ “Be My Girl,” “Walkin’,”  and “Feels Good.” Needless to say you will hear a western influence on the lines of Justin Timberlake and Britney Spears. Is this SuJu attempt to have global appeal? Most likely but to only consider that would be  musical blasphemy to Elfs.

Majority of K-pop is searching to obtain international fandom through media, SuJu more through music. “Good Friends” is a soulful r&b track straight from 70’s and this albums hidden master piece. While “White Christmas” is a pop rock ballad that only Japanese idols are known to pull off. The pop R&B style of “Y” and “My Love,My Kiss My Heat” has modren U.S appeal. SuJu hasn’t forgotten the importance of ballad lovers. “Storm” and  “Memories” are for Chinese fans who can’t get enough of broken-hearted romance. The up beat tempo of “Sunflower” kindly refreshes the album with Korea’s infamous charm to romance and completes its multi feel appeal.

After listening to Mr.Simple you get a feel that Super Junior is ‘well traveled’ on a musical stand point. To incorporate different music styles into their album seem crucial to the over all affect. There isn’t a primary focus  but to title this album “Mr.Simple” to something that seems more complex is a play on words. I think K-poppers will enjoy this album and the many different sounds created. Whether it feels western, Japanese, Chinese or truly Korean SuJu successful has touch grounds on what makes Asian pop so attractive to listeners all over the world. Consider this a regional album that will dominate the other half of 2011 **** 4 stars

Super Junior Vol.5 Mr.Simple available on Type A (CD Only) – Drops August 8th

*Note: Purchasing this album on yesasia  DOES NOT rank points on GDA, to purchase and rank Mr.Simple visit the following sites.Understand not all Korean sites will allow foreign purchase  downloads and require registration with addtional information. *

Melon    Ment     Soribada   Bugs    Naver 


01. Mr. Simple ***
02. 오페라 (Opera) ***
03. 라라라라 (Be My Girl)  ***
04. Walkin’ ***
05. 폭풍 (Storm) ****
06. 어느새 우린 (Good Friends) *****
07. 결투 (Feels Good) *** 1/2
08. 기억을 따라 (Memories) ****
09. 해바라기 (Sunflower) ***
10. 엉뚱한 상상 (White Christmas)  *****
11.  ****
12. My Love, My Kiss, My Heart  ****
[Bonus Track] 태완미(太完美_Perfection) (Sung by Super Junior-M)

Additional album information 

This edition comes in 30cm x 30cm sized packaging with 10 LP-sized member photos.

Note: This product is available with 10 different covers. Customers who purchase this product will have one of the available covers selected for them at random.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: